Remembering to Count My Blessings

These are my grandparents and they live on Wilson Place. They are the ones who ALWAYS ask me, “Which is more important, Love or Money?”

My Oji-chan (Grandfather) is a survivor.  When the atomic bomb was dropped on Hiroshima, he lost so much. He doesn’t like to remember the day that changed his life forever, but for me, he remembers.  He remembers because like me,
he knows the power of his story.

 I am who I am today BECAUSE of his story.

So why write about Wilson Place? Because it is a place where I go to reflect, and today was just that kind of day. Today I thought about how my grandparents tell me that my life is beautiful and that they wish they could be young like me. There is so much they wish they could do. There are so many regrets.

And in these I am always reminded to…

Count my blessings,
appreciate my life that my Oji-chan paid for with his sacrifices,
respect my parents,
try harder in school because he didn’t have the opportunity to go,
learn to live within my means,
learn the difference between wanting and needing,
to faithfully pray in the good times and in the bad,

and that…

LOVE IS more important than money.
Today I was reminded to count my blessings,
maybe you will be too.

Leave a comment